Reiki Precepts

In the System of Usui Reiki there are 5 Precepts. A Precept is a general rule intended to regulate behavior or thought. These 5 Precepts, which are the foundation of the Usui Reiki System are:

Today do not anger,
Do not worry,
Be thankful,
Work with diligence,
Be kind to others.

You may see slight variations of these Precepts on different Reiki websites or in Reiki books. Such as,

Just for today,
Do not anger
Do not worry
Be humble
Be honest in your work
Be compassionate to yourself and others

The slight variations are all valid and good. All of them basically say to be a good person and don’t be a jerk 😉

In Japanese they are pronounced,

Just for today
Kyo dake wa (said as Keyo-dakay-wa)

Don’t get angry
Ikaru na (said as E-ka-runa)

Don’t worry
Shinpai suna (said as Shin-pie suna)

Be grateful
Kansha shite (said as kan-sha-she-tay)

Work hard
Goo hage me (said as GEO-haga-mey)

Be kind to others
Hito ni shinsetsu ni (said as He-tow-knee-shin-setsu-knee)

Here is a wonderful video where a woman meditatively chants the Precepts in Japanese. So put on headphones, sit comfortably, hit play, and then close your eyes. Feel the energy of the Precepts fill your body and nourish your soul.


Leave a Reply

Related Post